Skip to content

Wilson Center Policy Discussion coming up

May 30, 2013

I am very excited about this event I am participating in on Monday afternoon:

It’s a policy discussion in DC about the bioethical and privacy issues raised by Stranger Visions. If you are in or near DC come by! I will have some work on display, give  a short presentation and then we will have an interactive discussion.

  1. MIFord permalink
    June 12, 2013 8:18 pm

    Can the knowledge gained from your endeavors be used ro advance criminal investigations where the only evidence is DNA evidence?

    • June 19, 2013 12:07 pm

      It can but I think we need to be careful about how we use these new technologies. So yes, but with caution.

  2. Dave permalink
    June 19, 2013 2:00 am

    So, if you have access to the entire planet, you would be able to map the entire genome of humanity to specific geographical locations by their trash?

    (given enough computing power)


  3. June 19, 2013 7:36 am

    I’m curious about how this discussion went, and what your thoughts were on it. Do you think it productive project to write a blog post on it, or perhaps to provide some sort of minutes?

    • June 19, 2013 12:08 pm

      Great idea, I will try to do that. In the mean time, a video is available here:

      • June 21, 2013 7:47 am

        Thanks for the link. Your work is compelling, though it also makes my brain wrench to a stop whenever I try to think in depth about it. I think that says a lot about the discourses, anxieties and desires your portraits tap into. I write a blog on teaching & learning (specifically targeted at the education in the Humanities in higher ed), and one of the main reasons I blog is because I’m trying to work out how to teach & learn in a way that is socially responsible, politicized, but perhaps primarily open & relational–open to challenge, and inviting of challenge, even. I also study critical race studies, and thinking about how to discuss race, ethnicity, and identity in the classroom is important to me. When I encountered your work online, I felt challenged. How does a teacher engage with questions of race & racism, ethnicity & culture, identity & genealogy, when confronted with “texts” like yours that are so, what, confusing? Confounding? That borrow from big-S “Science,” but are not created by or communicated by a scientist? Anyways, this is all to say that I would like to write a post on your work, and on the reactions & interpretations it has engendered. If you would be open to answering a few questions over email, it would be greatly appreciated, though I understand that this may not be a priority for you. If you’re interested, you can contact me at

Comments are closed.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

