Skip to content

Upcoming in May

May 5, 2013

First off, a really nice post on the smithsonian blog about my work:

Second, if you are in upstate NY on May 12th come by the RPI Grad show 6-8pm in West Hall Art gallery where I will be showing the latest in my work with DNA forensics. See the great poster my colleague Raven Kwok made for the show:
grad_poster-web
And third, if you are near Montreal on May 25th,  my collective Future Archaeology will be presenting Ohm IV at the Sight and Sound Festival. Details here:

More to come soon!

4 Comments
  1. Andrea Swainson permalink
    May 8, 2013 12:27 pm

    Hi, in June 2011 my son was stillborn. I have a lock of his hair. I would love to see a possible rendering of him as a 25 year old man. Any chance you would consider this?
    Andrea

    • May 9, 2013 11:18 am

      Andrea,
      Thank you for your interest. This is such a beautiful idea but I’m afraid the technology isn’t there yet. When I work with hair it is pulled from the root and fairly fresh. My understanding is that the chromosomal DNA which codes for the majority of facial traits doesn’t survive long enough to extract it from older pieces of cut hair. I am so sorry to disappoint you. We may get there with the science some day though!

      -Heather

      • Dave permalink
        May 11, 2013 1:28 am

        Heather,

        I respect you in this.

        Telling truth in a hard moment.

        Andrea,

        My best wishes, may a harsh thing become understanding, and understanding become kindness.

        -Dave

  2. Pskaena permalink
    May 15, 2013 2:26 pm

    Hello Heather,
    This is a beautiful project that you do!
    It was 3 years ago that I thought up a future-tech for a sci-fi book I’m working on which included DNA facial reconstruction for the purposes of identification. At the time I had no knowledge of your work whatsoever. I love it when things I have imagined become reality. Now I just have to come up with a new future-tech for the story ;)

    I have no doubt that your pioneering work will leave its mark on both the worlds of art and forensics.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

